UAW Leaders Nominate Next Union President

25 News

(AP) – An influential caucus of United Auto Workers leaders has nominated a regional director from Missouri to become the union’s next president.

Gary Jones will lead a slate of candidates to be voted on at the union’s convention in June. In most cases, candidates are elected after being nominated by the caucus of local union leaders.

Local 974 of the United Auto Workers union represents Peoria-area employees of Caterpillar, Inc.

Jones likely will replace Dennis Williams and take over a 400,000-member union that is dealing with a bribery scandal and stalled efforts to organize workers at foreign-owned auto plants in the south.

Secretary-Treasurer Gary Casteel was nominated to return to his post. Vice President Cindy Estrada and Regional Directors Rory Gamble and Terry Dittes were nominated for three vice president posts.

Williams will retire, as will Vice Presidents Jimmy Settles and Norwood Jewell.



Free Narcan Distribution Bicentennial Awards Local School STEM Program Lawyer: Shooting Suspect’s Mother Legally Owned Gun Bradley Tennis Player Earns National Recognition Quad City Hockey Joins SPHL CAT Plans Investment In Indiana Facility