State Adds Flood Disaster Declarations

(AP) – Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner has added 11 counties to the list of disaster declarations in the state for widespread flooding.

Rauner on Tuesday added Cass, Cumberland, Iroquois, Lawrence, Marion, Menard, Moultrie, Pike, Richland, Sangamon and Vermilion counties.

That brings the total number of counties largely in central and southern Illinois to 23 with disaster declarations.

The declarations make state resources available, such as sandbags, pumps, trucks, inmate crews and other items that can ensure public safety.

Rauner’s office says emergency management officials are starting to college damage information as flood waters start receding in some areas.

That information will be given to the Illinois Emergency Management Agency to determine the overall impact of flooding.

IEMA Director James Joseph says it will take a few weeks to gather initial damage assessments from local authorities.

Photo – Shutter Stock



Escapetown Peoria To Open ‘Almost Home Kids’ Construction In The Home Stretch Illinois Receives Federal Funding For Hospital Medicaid Plan Charles Krauthammer Dies At 68 Three Illinois Men Face Hate Crimes Charges Peoria Unemployment Rate Down