Wolstenholm Resigns, Wolfmeyer President

Sue Wolstenholm was not on the District 150 school board very long.

No sooner did Wolstenholm take her place on the panel, she resigned less than 30 seconds later.

Wolstenholm read from a prepared statement.

"When I started my campaign I had every intention of running...campaigning on the issues I felt needed addressed and bringing a voice to this board. Circumstances changed and I was unable to follow through with my plans. While I am healthier now, I will not go back on my word to resign," Wolstenholm said.

"I waited until today (July 1) to give people time to decide if they wanted to throw their hat in the ring and become part of the change needed in our district. I recommend the board choose someone representative of our community."

Wolstenholm cited health reasons for dropping out of the school board race, but too late to get her name off the ballot.

The group Change150, unhappy with the board's decision to reassign former Charter Oak principal John Wetterauer over ISAT testing irregularities, started a grassroots effort urging people to vote for Wolstenholm's name to send a message. Wolstenholm got 65 percent of the vote to defeat incumbent Laura Petelle.

The board will now accept applications and resumes of those interested in the District 3 seat through Noon, July 11, followed by a interview process toward filling the vacancy within in the next 45 days.

Potential candidates are required to live within Peoria Public Schools' District 3 boundaries, which is primarily north of Forrest Hill Avenue.

The board Tuesday elected Debbie Wolfmeyer as president over Martha Ross.

The vote was 3-2 with board members Rick Cloyd, Chris Crawford and Linda Butler voting for Wolfmeyer, who was absent. Ross and Lynne Costic voted for Ross.

Butler was the lone nomination for vice-president and was elected on a 4-1 vote, with Ross voting no.

This will be Wolfmeyer's third one-year stint as board president, previously serving in that capacity in 2009 and 2010. Ross, who has been on the board since 2001, has never been president.

Butler previously served as vice-president under Wolfmeyer in 2010.

The board also approved the appointment of Matthew Durr as principal at Hines Primary School. Durr most recently served as assistant principal at Roosevelt Magnet School from 2013-2014 and assistant principal at Valeska Hinton Early Childhood Education Center during the 2011-2012 school year.


A   A   A
breaking news
twitter @1470 wmbd