Candidates File Nomination Petitions

A handful of candidates filed their nomination petitions for the March primaries at the Peoria County Election Commission.

Monday at 8 a.m. was the earliest they could do so.

As expected, Bartonville Police Chief Brian Fengel(D) filed a nomination petition for Peoria County Sheriff. Sheriff Brian Asbell(R) currently holds the position after officially taking over for now Washington Police Chief Mike McCoy. The two could be on a collision course to face off during a November election.

Peoria County Treasurer Nicole Demetreas(R) officially announced she will be seeking another term. No one else has yet filed a nomination petition for the position.

Andrew Rand(D) filed for the District 4 seat on the Peoria County Board. He is also the acting board chairman.

Ways & Means and Rules Committee chairman Allen Mayer(D) put his name down for the Board’s District 6 board position.

Rachel Reliford(R) filed a nomination position for the District 12 seat. Robert Baietto (R) currently holds that spot. He had not filed any paperwork Monday morning.

Brian Elsasser(R) currently oversees District 14. He filed a nomination petition to hold onto his post. Brad Harding (R) did the same for District 16.

No more than one person filed a petition for nomination for the aforementioned seats.

The deadline for candidates wishing to be on the March primary ballot to file nominating petitions is Dec. 4.