D150 Board To Elect New Leadership

The Peoria District 150 school board will vote for a new president during its next meeting Tuesday, July 1. The meeting is the board's reorganization session which coincides with the start of a new fiscal year.

Current board president Rick Cloyd confirms he will not seek a second consecutive one-year term as president.

Sources tell 1470 & 100.3 WMBD the members most likely to vie for the position are current vice-president Debbie Wolfmeyer and Martha Ross.

Wolfmeyer is in her second five-year term on the board and previously served as president for two years from 2009 to 2011. Ross, the longest-tenured member, was first elected to the board in 2001. While serving as vice-president at least twice, Ross has never been elected president.

The only name to surface, so far, for vice-president is Linda Butler. Board members can make nominations of either themselves or other board members prior to each vote.

There will only be six board members voting during the July 1 meeting.

Laura Petelle's term as District 3 board member expires June 30. Sue Wolstenholm defeated Petelle in the March election but has said she will not serve. However, Wolstenholm has yet to officially resign from the board.

Wolstenholm's resignation will officially begin a process toward the board appointing someone to fill the District 3 vacancy until the next school board election next Spring.

The board will have 45 days to fill the vacancy starting July 1, or after Wolstenholm resigns if she resigns after July 1.

The board's July 1 meeting will start at Noon at the district's Administration Building.

A   A   A
breaking news
twitter @1470 wmbd